What is The Rock Cycle?

The Rock Cycle is the transformation of rocks over time. The different types of rock that are in the cycle are metamorphic, sedimentary, and igneous. Igneous rocks are formed by the cooling of lava or magma, which is melted rock. This can happen outside of or inside of Earth’s crust. Sedimentary rocks are tiny pieces of other rocks that are stuck together. This happens when weathered pieces of rocks stick together in a process called cementation. Metamorphic rocks are existing rocks that have been put under extreme heat and pressure. This causes the rocks to change. The Rock Cycle does not go in one order. Different rock can change into all of the types of rocks! The Rock Cycle is what we have to thank for the surface that we are standing on, the Earth’s crust!